Parents

To visit our photo gallery, click here!

As any parent will know, it can be a daunting prospect when it comes to choosing a Pre-school for your child’s education and understanding how the Pre-school works. Here at Datchworth, each child has a key-worker who will help your child to settle in and keep a record of their learning–journey.

Sessions are great fun as well as being educational. Children are split into various age-related groups for certain activities, which we call Ladybirds, Butterflies, Squirrels and Bees. We also make good use of our all-weather outdoor play area and vegetable garden.

Communication with parents is paramount and we regularly send out Newsletters as well as intermittent letters to ensure that everybody is fully aware of anything that is happening at Pre-school. Click here to view and download our latest newsletter, which includes details of weekly themes and events for the term.

Wherever possible, parents are invited to become involved, whether it’s helping out with our Theme of the Week (e.g showing/playing a musical instrument during our music week) coming along to support our fundraising activities or becoming a committee member – all support is greatly appreciated.

Pre-school is managed by a parent-led committee, so not only are our aims & objectives always in line with our policies, the EYFS (Early Years Foundation System) & Ofsted but as parents, we have a true understanding of what makes our children happy, confident and imaginative little people.

We are pleased to report that Ofsted recently awarded Datchworth Pre-school with a ‘GOOD’. Click here to view and download our Ofsted report. The best way to see the quality of our care and educational provision, is by coming along to see us, so you can judge for yourself.

Autumn Term 2021

Wednesday 1st September – INSET Day (Pre-school closed)
Thursday 2nd September – First Day of Term
Mon 25th to Fri 29th October – Half Term
Friday 17th December – Last Day of Term – finish at 12pm (no lunch club)

Spring Term 2022

Wednesday 5th January – INSET Day (Pre-school closed)
Thursday 6th January – First Day of Term
Mon 14th to Fri 18th February – Half Term
Thursday 31st March – Last Day of Term (no early finish)
Friday 1st April – INSET Day (Pre-school closed)

Summer Term 2022

Monday 18th April – Bank Holiday (Pre-school closed)
Tuesday 19th April – First Day of Term
Monday 2nd May – Bank Holiday (Pre-school closed)
Thursday 5th May – Pre-school closed for Elections tbc
Mon 30th May to Fri 3rd June – Half Term
Thursday 21st July – Last Day of Term – finish at 12pm (no lunch club)
Friday 22nd July – INSET Day (Pre-school closed)

View & Download Our Policies & Procedures
SEND offer
Uncollected Child
Making a Complaint
Valuing Diversity & Promoting Equality
Supporting Children with SEN
Administering Medicines
Managing Children with Allergies or Who Are Sick or Infectious
First Aid
Fire Safety and Emergency Evacuation
The Role of the Key Person and Settling In
Parental Involvement
Safeguarding
Fees
Privacy Notice

Ofsted

Parents say:

Contact us